Seasons of the Church

Christians have organised time in light of the events of Christ's life and ministry so that they might pattern their lives after their Lord. Christianity is no mere intellectual exercise, but the power of transformation. "Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds," (Romans 12.2). "Let the same mind be in you that was in Christ Jesus," (Philippians 2:5). Thus, the church year is a tool and pattern for Christian discipleship, a means for moral and faith formation. In a region where diverse religious traditions are practiced openly, it is important that Christians also witness their faith through visible activities. While the ordering of the Christian year is not sacrosanct, its observation is one way of giving witness to our Lord and growing in our discipleship.

— Excerpt from The People Called Methodists: The Heritage, Life and Mission of The Methodist Church in Singapore, p 148

The Methodist Church in Singapore observes seven Christian seasons throughout the year: Advent, Christmastide, Epiphany, Lent, Eastertide, Pentecost and Kingdomtide.


Contact Us

The Methodist Church in Singapore

70 Barker Road, Singapore 309936

+65 64784786

Send Feedback